12 Best ChatGPT Apps for Mac in 2026 (Free and Paid)

Last updated: September 25, 2026.

OpenAI rebuilt its Mac desktop app on 9 July 2026 and its own president called it "kind of a mess" (9to5Mac report). Ads have run on Free and Go since 9 February 2026 (MacRumors ads). Which is the best ChatGPT app for Mac now depends on what you need from it.

Pick the ChatGPT app for Mac that fits your situation: free use, a MacBook Air, client files, offline work, your own API key, or a one-time price. The Mac spoke sits under the hub of ChatGPT alternatives.

A comparison table sits first, then the 12 ranked ChatGPT apps for Mac with a best-for verdict each, then the free, MacBook Air, App Store and offline questions Mac users search for.

Quick answer

  • The official ChatGPT Mac app is a free direct download, works with a free account, and needs macOS 14 with Apple silicon (M1 or better) or Intel (OpenAI help).
  • Apple's built-in ChatGPT extension sits in Siri and Writing Tools on macOS 15 Sequoia or later, needs a Mac with M1 or later, and can run without a ChatGPT account (Mac User Guide).
  • BoltAI is the best native Mac client for one-time pricing with your own API key, from $79 one-time (BoltAI pricing).
  • MacGPT is the free menu bar option: the developer's Gumroad listing is pay-what-you-want from $0 (MacGPT download), and native mode needs your own API key (MacGPT site).
  • If you want the main cloud models, built-in local LLM models and Smart Redaction in one Mac app, Elephas is a privacy-friendly AI knowledge assistant with a free plan.

The 12 best ChatGPT apps for Mac compared

ToolBest forFree tierPaid fromNative Mac appWorks offlineNeeds your own API key
ChatGPTFirst-party Mac client with a ChatGPT accountYes (ads on Free)Go $8 / ChatGPT Plus $19.99YesNoNo
Apple's ChatGPT extensionSiri and Writing ToolsYes (included)No separate chargeBuilt-inNoNo
ElephasAll major models plus on-device redactionYesFree plan (pricing)YesYesOptional (for cloud)
BoltAIOne-time native client, own keyFree trialone-time from $79YesYes (via local runtimes)Yes
TypingMindBrowser client with your own API keyYes (basic web)$39 one-timeNoNoYes
MacGPTFree menu bar clientYes$0 (pay-what-you-want)YesNoYes (native mode)
Msty StudioLocal or online with identifier scrubYes (desktop)$149/yrYesYesFor online models
Raycast AIMac launcher with optional AIYes (no AI)$10YesVia local Ollama (paid plans)On some plans
KerligOne-time Mac client with local models7-day trial$49 one-timeYesYes (via local runtimes)Yes
MindMacOne-time Mac client, own API keyYes (5 chats)$29 one-timeYesYes (via local runtimes)Yes
ChatboxHosted or BYOK desktop clientYes (daily quota)$3.99/moYesYes (via local runtimes)Optional
Fello AIHosted multi-model Mac clientYes (5/hour)$9.99/moYesNoNo

1. ChatGPT: Native Mac client for your ChatGPT account

Best for: Mac users who want the first-party desktop client and a ChatGPT account, with no API key.

ChatGPT Mac download page showing a Download for macOS button

Checked 21 September 2026, the macOS requirements help page says the ChatGPT macos app needs macOS 14 and either Apple silicon (M1 or better) or an Intel processor, with no version for older systems. The download page is the free path to download ChatGPT with a free account.

You sign in with a ChatGPT account for full ChatGPT, and you do not need an API key. On 9 July 2026 the rebuild put Chat, Work and Codex in one window (Engadget coverage, 9to5Mac event). The previous macos app was renamed ChatGPT Classic and continues to be supported.

Key capabilities:

  • Free to download; works with a free account
  • Chat, Work and Codex in one window from 9 July 2026
  • Option+Space keyboard shortcut (Itechguides, 18 August 2026)
  • Work with Apps can query supported apps after Accessibility permission (Work with Apps)
  • ChatGPT Classic stays supported if already installed; no official fresh download (ithinkdiff notes, 14 July 2026)

Pricing: Free $0, Go $8, ChatGPT Plus $19.99, Pro $100 (5x) and $200 (20x), checked September 2026 on the App Store listing. Ads run on Free and Go since 9 February 2026 in the US (MacRumors ads).

  • Trains on your data: Consumer content may be used to improve models unless you turn off "Improve the model for everyone"; Temporary Chat is not used for training and may be retained up to 30 days for safety (Data Controls, Temporary Chat).
  • Native Mac app: Yes
  • macOS needed: 14
  • Works offline: No
  • Needs your own API key: No

Limitation: Named press reports put the new app at about 1.5 GB and call it Electron, versus roughly 160-170 MB for Classic (ithinkdiff notes) (Michael Tsai, Daring Fireball). Treat those size statistics and the Electron label as press reports. No offline mode is documented.

Why we picked ChatGPT: The first-party Mac client is the baseline for a ChatGPT login without an API key. The app is free to download and works with a free account. Keep ChatGPT Classic if it's already installed. The other path is chatgpt.com in a web browser, which skips the desktop installer.

What the sources say: Greg Brockman called the new app "kind of a mess" on 29 July 2026 (9to5Mac report). Michael Tsai quoted Federico Viticci calling the new user experience "UX hell" (Tsai's post, 10 July 2026). Secondary pricing explainers say the Free plan limits messages, uploads, images, memory and context (Gradually guide).

2. Apple's ChatGPT extension: Built-in ChatGPT in Siri and Writing Tools

Best for: Mac users who want ChatGPT inside Siri and Writing Tools without installing another app.

Mac User Guide page for the ChatGPT extension, set to macOS 27 Golden Gate

Apple's ChatGPT extension is built into Siri and Writing Tools on supported Macs. The Mac User Guide lists macOS 15 Sequoia or later, so the feature is not limited to macOS 27. Turn it on in System Settings under Extensions: click ChatGPT, then turn on Use Extension.

You can use ChatGPT through the extension without an account. Signing in is optional and needed only to save requests to ChatGPT chat history. No API key is involved. The feature needs a Mac with M1 or later (Apple requirements, published 14 September 2026).

Key capabilities:

  • Built into Siri and Writing Tools
  • Works without a ChatGPT account
  • Turned on in System Settings under Extensions
  • You are asked before any information is shared (third-party AI notice)
  • Availability follows regions where the ChatGPT service is available

Pricing: No separate charge; included with Apple Intelligence, checked September 2026. See the Mac User Guide. Usage limits and region availability apply.

  • Trains on your data: For account-free use, OpenAI must not use your information to improve or train its models and must not store it unless required by law; with a connected ChatGPT account, OpenAI may log your request, attachments, and session history, and use this data to train or improve their models (third-party AI notice).
  • Native Mac app: No (built-in extension)
  • macOS needed: 15 Sequoia or later
  • Works offline: No
  • Needs your own API key: No

Limitation: Apple Intelligence needs a Mac with M1 or later, so Intel Macs are left out (Apple requirements). The ChatGPT request still goes online even when other on-device work stays on the machine. Usage limits can apply on the account-free path.

Why we picked Apple's ChatGPT extension: Siri and Writing Tools already ship a ChatGPT client with no extra installer. Account-free use is allowed, and the third-party AI notice sets a no-store, no-train rule for that path. A connected ChatGPT account switches the request onto that account's own policies. The floor is macOS 15 Sequoia or later.

3. Elephas: Privacy-friendly AI knowledge assistant for Mac that works with every major model

Best for: Mac users who want every cloud model plus local privacy.

Elephas homepage showing the Mac AI knowledge assistant

Elephas is a privacy-friendly AI knowledge assistant for Mac that redacts sensitive data before it reaches cloud models. One Mac app holds ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Perplexity or any other cloud model, plus built-in local LLM models for offline work and Smart Redaction of personally identifiable information (PII).

For people who still want a leading cloud model, Elephas adds a second layer through automatic PII redaction. Before a prompt is sent to ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Perplexity, or any other cloud model, Elephas strips sensitive names, emails, phone numbers, and identifiers on your Mac. The cloud model only ever sees the sanitized text. When the answer comes back, the redacted fields are reassembled locally on your machine, so identifiable information never leaves the device. Elephas pairs this with zero data retention: content never trains AI models, never sits on a vendor's server, and never passes through a third-party reviewer's screen.

Elephas Smart Redaction flow: sensitive identifiers are stripped on your Mac before a prompt reaches a cloud model, then restored locallyElephas app showing Smart Redaction with 96 items anonymized before a cloud send

Key capabilities:

  • Super Brain knowledge base from 20+ file formats (PDF, Word, Apple Notes, Notion, Obsidian, YouTube, audio)
  • Choose any model per task (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Perplexity) or built-in local LLM models
  • Smart Redaction on every plan including Free
  • Works inside every Mac app, plus iPhone and iPad
  • Answers only from your own documents, with citations

Pricing: A free plan is available. See Elephas pricing plans.

API key:

  • Local models: Free, no key needed
  • Cloud models: Use the monthly credits in your plan, or bring your own API key

  • Trains on your data: No. Elephas has a zero data retention policy. Use local models for complete privacy. With cloud models (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and others), Elephas redacts sensitive data before it leaves your Mac.

  • Native Mac app: Yes
  • macOS needed: 13 or later
  • Works offline: Yes, with built-in local LLM models (Mac only)
  • Needs your own API key: No for local models; optional for cloud models

Limitation: Mac, iPhone and iPad only for now, with no web version. Windows is coming soon, so Windows users can join the Windows waitlist.

Why we picked Elephas: To leave the official ChatGPT app without giving up models, Elephas puts ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok and Perplexity in one Mac app and redacts PII first. Built-in local LLM models run offline on Mac. Super Brain reads YouTube and audio transcripts from your own files.

What the sources say: Elephas is rated 4.6 out of 5 by users on Capterra and GetApp and 4.6/5 on the App Store, and trusted by 3,000+ professionals, as self-reported on the Elephas site. The same product also ships a mobile app for iPhone and iPad (Elephas site).

Try Elephas free on your Mac

Use built-in local models for complete privacy, or cloud models like ChatGPT and Claude with sensitive data redacted first.

  • Free plan with monthly credits, no credit card needed.
  • Every new download includes 7 days of Pro.
  • Zero data retention: Elephas never trains on your data.

Download Elephas free for Mac

4. BoltAI: Native Mac app for 300+ models with your own API key

Best for: A one-time native Mac client that talks to many models through your own keys.

BoltAI homepage for the native Mac AI client

The BoltAI homepage, captured 21 September 2026, says you can switch between 300+ AI models from one native Mac app, with no account required, on Intel and Apple silicon, and on macOS 13 or later.

You bring your own API key, so usage is billed by the model vendor you connect. Local models can run through Ollama or LM Studio. It is a one-time license among no-subscription Mac apps; updates run for 1 year, then an optional 40% renewal per BoltAI pricing.

Key capabilities:

  • Switch between 300+ AI models from one native Mac app
  • No account required; Intel and Apple silicon; macOS 13+
  • Bring your own API key
  • Local models through Ollama or LM Studio
  • Free trial download; one-time Essential, Pro, and Pro+ licenses

Pricing: One-time Essential $79, Pro $99, Pro+ $199, each with 1 year of updates, checked September 2026. See BoltAI pricing.

  • Trains on your data: Cloud prompts follow the vendor behind your API key. Local Ollama or LM Studio runs stay on the Mac.
  • Native Mac app: Yes
  • macOS needed: 13+
  • Works offline: Yes, with local models through Ollama or LM Studio
  • Needs your own API key: Yes

Limitation: You bring your own API key, so cloud usage is billed by the model vendor. Updates last 1 year, then an optional 40% renewal, per BoltAI pricing.

Why we picked BoltAI: BoltAI made the cut because it's a native Mac app you buy once, then point at 300+ models with your own key. Intel and Apple silicon are listed, with macOS 13 as the floor. Local models through Ollama or LM Studio give an offline path the hosted ChatGPT desktop app lacks.

5. TypingMind: Browser front end for ChatGPT through your own API key

Best for: People who want a one-time license and will pay OpenAI directly for API use.

TypingMind page for the browser ChatGPT front end

TypingMind is a static, self-hostable front end, not a native Mac App Store client. The TypingMind pricing page, checked 22 September 2026, lists a free basic web app plus lifetime licenses. No dated app release was observed.

A working OpenAI API key is required for ChatGPT use, and API charges are extra. A purchased license includes an offline static web app, per the TypingMind privacy page. No bundled local inference was verified.

Key capabilities:

  • Free basic web app, then a one-time license
  • OpenAI use needs your own API key
  • Keys and chats stay in browser storage by default
  • Requests go directly to the provider
  • Self-hosted static shell, with no bundled local inference

Pricing: Free basic web app; lifetime Standard $39, Extended $79, Premium $99, checked September 2026. API use is extra. See TypingMind pricing.

  • Trains on your data: The TypingMind privacy page says conversations are not used for AI training, that keys stay in browser storage, and that a cloud prompt still goes directly to the provider.
  • Native Mac app: No (browser or self-hosted shell)
  • macOS needed: Not publicly specified
  • Works offline: Static shell only (no local model)
  • Needs your own API key: Yes, for OpenAI use

Limitation: A cloud prompt still leaves the Mac and goes directly to the provider. TypingMind publishes no macOS floor, and no current dated build was observed.

Why we picked TypingMind: TypingMind earns a place for readers who want ChatGPT on a Mac through their own OpenAI key, with a one-time license instead of a second subscription. Standard is $39, and the free basic web app is the try-first path. The static shell stores chats in the browser, which is the privacy fact to read before a client file goes out.

6. MacGPT: Menu bar ChatGPT client with a free developer download

Best for: People who want a free menu bar client and will bring an OpenAI API key for native mode.

MacGPT developer page for the menu bar app

MacGPT is Jordi Bruin's menu bar app for Mac. The developer's Gumroad listing sells it pay-what-you-want from $0 (MacGPT download), and the MacGPT site, fetched 22 September 2026, lists macOS Monterey and Ventura. Maintenance status on current macOS is unverified.

Native mode needs your own OpenAI API key, with billing attached, and that traffic connects directly to OpenAI. Web mode can use a ChatGPT login instead. No local inference is documented, so MacGPT is not an offline tool.

Key capabilities:

  • Menu bar app, pay-what-you-want from $0 on Gumroad
  • Lists macOS Monterey and Ventura
  • Native mode needs your own OpenAI API key with billing
  • Web mode can use a ChatGPT login
  • Native connections go directly to OpenAI, and no local inference is documented

Pricing: Pay-what-you-want from $0 on the developer's Gumroad listing, checked September 2026, with no recurring app fee listed (MacGPT download).

  • Trains on your data: The MacGPT privacy page says MacGPT does not track or store user data, and native traffic goes directly to OpenAI, whose policy still governs that processing.
  • Native Mac app: Yes (menu bar)
  • macOS needed: Monterey and Ventura
  • Works offline: No
  • Needs your own API key: Yes, for native mode

Limitation: Maintenance status on current macOS is unverified, and the developer page lists only Monterey and Ventura. Download only from the MacGPT site. Aggregator and cracked-download pages aren't the developer, and they aren't a safe install path.

Why we picked MacGPT: MacGPT stays for readers who want a menu bar ChatGPT client and a pay-what-you-want download from $0 on Gumroad. The developer site, fetched 22 September 2026, lists macOS Monterey and Ventura. Native mode still needs your own OpenAI API key, and maintenance on current macOS is unverified, so check the developer page before you install.

7. Msty Studio: Free desktop app for local or online models on Mac

Best for: A free desktop app that can run local or online models and scrub personally identifiable information (PII) on the Mac.

Msty Studio homepage for local and online models

Msty Studio is a desktop app for macOS that can call local or online models. A Msty Studio blog post dated 1 August 2025 says the free desktop tier includes Knowledge Stacks, an MCP toolbox, personas, Split Chats, and local PII scrubbing.

The Msty site states zero product telemetry, a data processing agreement (DPA), and SOC 2 and ISO 27001 work in progress. Aurum is $149 a year on the vendor pricing page. Online providers such as ChatGPT need your own API key; local models need none (Msty pricing).

Key capabilities:

  • Local or online models on the free desktop tier
  • Knowledge Stacks
  • MCP toolbox, personas, and Split Chats
  • Local PII scrubbing
  • Zero product telemetry (vendor)

Pricing: Free desktop tier; Aurum $149 a year, checked September 2026, per Msty pricing.

  • Trains on your data: Local PII scrubbing is documented on the free-tier blog. Training use for online models is not publicly specified.
  • Native Mac app: Yes (separate Intel and Apple silicon builds)
  • macOS needed: 11 or later, per the Msty Studio page
  • Works offline: Yes, with the local engine
  • Needs your own API key: Yes for online models such as ChatGPT; no for local models

Limitation: Online models still leave the Mac, and the free desktop tier does not include the Aurum features listed on the pricing page.

Why we picked Msty Studio: Msty Studio belongs here because the free desktop tier already mixes local and online models, and it scrubs PII on the Mac. Knowledge Stacks and Split Chats are in that same free list. Paid prices are secondary, so the free tier is the part we can stand behind.

8. Raycast AI: Mac-native launcher with paid AI credits

Best for: People who already live in Raycast and will pay for AI credits.

Raycast AI feature page for the Mac launcher

Raycast AI sits inside Raycast, a Mac-native launcher. The Raycast pricing page, checked September 2026, puts AI behind paid plans. The Free plan is $0 and doesn't include AI.

Plus and Max get top-tier models, from $20 and $50 a month. Some plans allow a bring-your-own-key setup. Paid plans can connect a ChatGPT subscription, bring your own key, or point to a local Ollama server (Raycast subscriptions).

Key capabilities:

  • Mac-native launcher for a prompt or query
  • Free plan includes no AI
  • Pro 500 credits; Plus 3,000; Max 7,500
  • Top-tier models on Plus and Max
  • Bring-your-own-key on some plans

Pricing: Free $0 with no AI; Pro $10/month (500 credits); Plus $20/month; Max $50/month, checked September 2026. See Raycast AI pricing.

  • Trains on your data: Raycast says user data isn't used to train models and ordinary prompts aren't logged, apart from basic metadata (Raycast AI privacy).
  • Native Mac app: Yes (Mac-native launcher)
  • macOS needed: Tahoe (macOS 26) with Apple silicon, per Raycast's AI page captured 21 September 2026
  • Works offline: Yes, with a local Ollama server on paid plans
  • Needs your own API key: On some plans

Limitation: The Free plan includes no AI, and offline use needs a paid plan pointed at a local Ollama server. A prompt still leaves the Mac the way a web browser request would. Raycast's AI page states macOS Tahoe and Apple silicon are required, so Intel Macs and older macOS versions are out.

Why we picked Raycast AI: We picked Raycast AI for people who already live in that launcher and want a prompt without a web browser. The Free plan doesn't have AI, so treat Pro as the real starting price. Credits start at $10 a month for 500 credits, checked September 2026.

What the sources say: Raycast's pricing page states the Free plan includes no AI and meters Pro at 500 credits (Raycast AI pricing).

9. Kerlig: One-time Mac client for writing and chat with your own provider key

Best for: Mac users who want a single paid license and their own API key instead of a monthly bill.

Kerlig website showing the Mac writing and chat app for AI models

Kerlig, retrieved 22 September 2026, is a direct-download Mac app for writing and chat. It runs on macOS 12 or later, and the vendor ships separate Apple silicon and Intel builds.

Cloud use normally runs on your own provider key, so the model vendor bills the usage. A Setapp subscription can instead include supported hosted models with no key. Local replies come from Apple Foundation Models, Ollama or LM Studio after you set a model up.

ChatGPT and other cloud models run through that provider key, and Setapp users can get hosted models without one (Kerlig quick start).

Key capabilities:

  • Direct download for macOS 12 or later, with separate Apple silicon and Intel builds
  • Bring your own provider key for cloud models
  • Setapp route can include supported hosted models without a key
  • Local routes through Apple Foundation Models, Ollama or LM Studio for offline replies
  • Seven-day trial and a 14-day money-back guarantee

Pricing: One-time Basic $49 for one Mac and Pro $79 for two Macs, checked September 2026. See Kerlig pricing.

  • Trains on your data: Kerlig says messages go straight to the provider you choose and stay encrypted on the Mac, while Setapp-routed prompts pass through Kerlig and Setapp infrastructure under a no-training claim.
  • Native Mac app: Yes
  • macOS needed: 12 or later
  • Works offline: Yes, with Apple Foundation Models, Ollama or LM Studio
  • Needs your own API key: Yes for normal cloud use, no on the Setapp route

Limitation: The release page did not render the same way across retrievals on 22 September 2026. One surface showed v2.8.2 dated 14 September 2026 and another stopped at v2.6.0 from April, so treat the newest version as unconfirmed.

Why we picked Kerlig: Kerlig earns a spot on price shape. One payment of $49 covers a Mac, and the seven-day trial plus the 14-day refund keeps the risk small. Apple Foundation Models, Ollama and LM Studio give it an offline path, and the Setapp route suits anyone who would rather skip API keys.

10. MindMac: Bring-your-own-key Mac client with a one-time license from $29

Best for: People who already hold an OpenAI API key and want the cheapest one-time license.

MindMac website showing the Mac client for several AI models

MindMac, retrieved 22 September 2026, is a macOS client that needs macOS 13 or later. The vendor names Intel and Apple M1, M2 and M3 machines. Later Apple silicon generations are not listed on that page.

ChatGPT use runs on your own OpenAI API key, so a ChatGPT Plus subscription does not carry across. The free tier stops at five conversations plus inline use, and each paid license includes one year of updates.

Key capabilities:

  • macOS 13 or later on Intel and Apple M1, M2 and M3 Macs
  • Your own OpenAI API key for ChatGPT models
  • Free tier capped at five conversations and inline use
  • Local model integrations for LM Studio, LocalAI, GPT4All, Ollama, llama.cpp and MLX
  • Keys held in the macOS Keychain, with requests sent straight to the provider

Pricing: One-time Basic $29, Personal $49 and Standard $69, each with one year of updates, checked September 2026. See MindMac.

  • Trains on your data: MindMac says keys, messages and history stay on the Mac and cloud requests go directly to the provider, whose own policy then applies.
  • Native Mac app: Yes
  • macOS needed: 13 or later
  • Works offline: Yes, with a local model you install yourself
  • Needs your own API key: Yes

Limitation: No current dated release was found on 22 September 2026, and core MindMac docs carry 2024 and 2025 update labels, so the update pace is hard to check before you pay.

Why we picked MindMac: Cost is the case here. At $29 once, MindMac is the cheapest one-time license in this list, it runs on Intel and Apple silicon from macOS 13, and it keeps your key in the Keychain. The trade is that you supply and fund the OpenAI API key yourself.

11. Chatbox: Mac desktop app with a hosted plan or your own key

Best for: Readers who want a cheap hosted plan now and the option to switch to their own key later.

Chatbox download page showing the Mac desktop app for AI chat

Chatbox, retrieved 22 September 2026, ships a Mac desktop app for macOS 11 or later, with separate Intel and Apple silicon disk images.

Hosted plans call the models for you, so no OpenAI API key is needed, and a free quota refreshes daily. You can connect your own key instead, and the vendor changelog documents Ollama for local work. The newest entry is v1.23.3, dated 16 September 2026.

Key capabilities:

  • macOS 11 or later, with separate Intel and Apple silicon downloads
  • Free hosted quota that refreshes every day
  • Hosted plans need no API key, and bring-your-own-key is supported
  • Ollama and LM Studio routes for local models
  • Work Mode, memory and new model controls added between 28 July and 16 September 2026

Pricing: Lite $3.99 a month, Pro $19.99 and Pro+ $39.99, checked September 2026. See Chatbox pricing.

  • Trains on your data: Chatbox says history and settings stay on the Mac and hosted inputs may be held briefly to speed a reply, with no permanent storage and no training use, while own-key traffic follows the provider you pick.
  • Native Mac app: Yes
  • macOS needed: 11 or later
  • Works offline: Yes, with a local model you install yourself
  • Needs your own API key: No on hosted plans, optional otherwise

Limitation: The Mac build arrives only as a direct disk image from the vendor site. The Chatbox site route is mobile, so there is no Mac App Store download to fall back on.

Why we picked Chatbox: Budget range is the reason. A daily free quota, a $3.99 hosted tier and a bring-your-own-key mode cover three different wallets. macOS 11 is the lowest system floor in this list, and the changelog dated 16 September 2026 shows the Mac build is still moving.

12. Fello AI: Mac App Store app with its own multi-model subscription

Best for: Mac users who want an App Store download and one subscription covering several models.

Fello AI website showing the Mac, iPhone and iPad AI chat app

Fello AI, retrieved 22 September 2026, is a Mac, iPhone and iPad app sold through the Mac App Store. Its App Store listing shows version 6.8.3 dated 5 September 2026, on macOS 12 or later, Intel and Apple silicon.

Fello AI sells its own plan. An account you already pay for, whether ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini, cannot be attached, and no API key is involved. The free tier allows five premium-model questions an hour, then falls back to a Free Compound model until the hour resets.

Key capabilities:

  • Mac App Store download for macOS 12 or later, on Intel and Apple silicon
  • One subscription covering several models, with no API key to manage
  • Free tier of five premium-model questions per hour
  • Free Compound model keeps answering once the hourly limit is reached
  • Same app on Mac, iPhone and iPad

Pricing: $3.99 a week, $9.99 a month or $79.99 a year, checked September 2026. See Fello AI FAQ.

  • Trains on your data: Fello says chats sit on your device and can sync through iCloud, prompts and files travel to outside model providers, and it keeps aggregate usage and crash data rather than prompts or outputs.
  • Native Mac app: Yes
  • macOS needed: 12 or later
  • Works offline: No
  • Needs your own API key: No

Limitation: No local model route is documented, so every question needs the network. The Fello privacy policy also warns against sending medical records, financial data or confidential business information, because prompts and files reach outside providers.

Why we picked Fello AI: One narrow question gets a clean answer here: which app installs from the Mac App Store and bills a single subscription across several models. Fello AI and Elephas are the only two apps on this list with a verified Mac App Store route, and $3.99 a week suits short bursts of work.

How we picked the best ChatGPT app for Mac

Elephas publishes this page, so our own app sits at number 3 with the same fields as every other tool, so you can check us. A tool made this list only if it runs ChatGPT or OpenAI models on a Mac today and still had a current vendor page in September 2026.

Five checks every app on this list passed: runs ChatGPT on a Mac, current vendor page, stated price, stated data policy, and a real reason people search for a ChatGPT app on a Mac

Most of the 2023 menu-bar apps from the earlier version of this list were overtaken by first-party Mac apps from OpenAI and Apple, and they are gone from this list. Every price, data policy and system requirement below comes from a vendor page or a dated report.

  • Runs ChatGPT or OpenAI models on a Mac today
  • Current vendor page in September 2026
  • Stated price
  • Stated data policy
  • Fits a real reason people search for a ChatGPT app on a Mac

Is there an official ChatGPT app for Mac?

Yes. OpenAI ships an official ChatGPT app for Mac, free to download and usable with a free account. It sits at number 1 on this list. The installer needs macOS 14 and either Apple silicon (M1 or better) or an Intel processor, per OpenAI's macOS requirements help page.

Three ways to run ChatGPT on a Mac after the 9 July 2026 rebuild: the new desktop app, ChatGPT Classic, or chatgpt.com in a browser

On 9 July 2026 OpenAI rebuilt the ChatGPT desktop app so Chat, Work and Codex share one window (Engadget coverage, 9to5Mac event). The previous macOS app was renamed ChatGPT Classic and continues to be supported, per OpenAI's help article.

Named press reports put the new ChatGPT desktop app at about 1.5 GB and call it Electron, versus roughly 160-170 MB for Classic (Michael Tsai, Daring Fireball, ithinkdiff notes). Treat those size statistics and the Electron label as press reports, not an OpenAI spec.

The App Store in-app list, checked 21 September 2026, shows Free at $0, Go at $8, ChatGPT Plus at $19.99, and Pro at $100 (5x) and $200 (20x) (App Store listing).

  • ChatGPT Classic stays supported if it's already installed. ithinkdiff notes reported on 14 July 2026 that Classic "it seems like it's nowhere to be found on the official website". There's no official fresh download.
  • You have three choices: the new ChatGPT desktop app, Classic if it's still on the Mac, or chatgpt.com in a web browser.
  • Itechguides (18 August 2026) says the current app is free and opens with Option+Space.
  • Michael Tsai quoted Federico Viticci calling the new user experience "UX hell" (Tsai's post, 10 July 2026).
  • Secondary pricing explainers say the Free plan limits messages, uploads, images, memory and context (Gradually guide).

What is the best free ChatGPT app for a MacBook?

The official ChatGPT Mac app is the best free ChatGPT app for a MacBook if your test is hosted chat with no install fee, because it's free to download and works with a free account (TechCrunch, 25 June 2024).

What free means for each app on a MacBook: free with ads or limits, free client with your own API bill, free plan with a paid tier above it, and a free desktop tier

ToolFree to downloadFree to useStated limit or catchSource
ChatGPTYesYes, with a free accountAds on Free and Go since 9 February 2026MacRumors ads
Apple's ChatGPT extensionBuilt in, nothing to installYes, and no account neededUsage limits and region availability applyMac User Guide
ElephasYesYes, free planPaid plans listed on the pricing pageElephas pricing
BoltAIYes, free trialTrial onlyOne-time from $79, then your model vendor bills the API useBoltAI pricing
TypingMindYes, free basic web appYes, basic web appOpenAI use needs your own API key, billed by OpenAITypingMind pricing
MacGPTYes, pay-what-you-want from $0YesNative mode needs your own OpenAI API key with billingMacGPT site
Msty StudioYesYes, free desktop tierOnline models still leave the MacMsty free tier
Raycast AIYesFree plan has no AIAI starts at Pro, $10/month for 500 creditsRaycast pricing
KerligYes, 7-day trialTrial onlyBasic $49 once for one Mac; cloud use needs your own keyKerlig site
MindMacYesYes, five conversationsBasic $29 once; OpenAI use needs your own API keyMindMac site
ChatboxYesYes, free daily quotaHosted plans start at $3.99/monthChatbox pricing
Fello AIYes, from the App StoreYes, five premium questions an hourThen $3.99 weekly or $9.99 monthlyFello FAQ

Ads run on ChatGPT Free and Go since 9 February 2026 in the US, with later rollouts in Europe and India (MacRumors ads, TechCrunch India ads). ChatGPT Plus and higher stay ad-free per that MacRumors report.

No hosted free tier on this list is unlimited. Chatbox refreshes a daily quota, Fello AI allows five premium-model questions an hour, and MindMac's free tier stops at five conversations. Elephas keeps a free plan, and its pricing page lists which plan includes built-in local LLM models that hold a query on the Mac.

  • Raycast's Free plan includes no AI at all, so a prompt there starts at Pro, $10 a month for 500 credits.
  • Msty Studio's desktop tier is free, and any online model you pick still sends the prompt off the Mac.
  • A free client is not a free bill: TypingMind's basic web app costs nothing, while OpenAI charges for the API use behind it.
  • MacGPT's Gumroad listing is pay-what-you-want from $0 (MacGPT download), and native mode still needs your own OpenAI API key with billing attached.

What is the best ChatGPT app for a MacBook Air?

The official ChatGPT app runs on macOS 14 with Apple silicon (M1 or better) or Intel, so every Apple silicon MacBook Air and supported Intel models qualify (OpenAI help). Local models are a memory decision.

Which of the 12 apps run on a MacBook Air by macOS version and chip, with RAM guidance for local models from LLMCheck

AppmacOS neededChipSource
ChatGPT14Apple silicon (M1 or better) or IntelOpenAI help
Apple's ChatGPT extension15 Sequoia or laterMac with M1 or laterMac User Guide; Apple requirements
Elephas13 or laternot publicly specified; built-in local LLM models need Apple siliconElephas pricing
BoltAI13+Intel and Apple siliconBoltAI homepage
TypingMindnot publicly specified (browser or self-hosted)not publicly specifiedTypingMind pricing
MacGPTMonterey and Venturanot publicly specifiedMacGPT site
Msty Studio11+Intel and Apple silicon buildsMsty Studio page
Raycast AI26 TahoeApple siliconRaycast AI page, captured 21 September 2026
Kerlig12 or laterApple silicon and Intel downloadsKerlig download
MindMac13 or laterIntel and Apple siliconMindMac setup
Chatbox11 or laterIntel and Apple siliconChatbox download
Fello AI12 or laterApple silicon and IntelFello FAQ

LLMCheck (secondary, 7 September 2026) says an 8 GB MacBook Air can run Gemma 4 E4B at about 45-65 tokens per second, and 16 GB can run Phi-4 14B at about 20-45. Fanless Airs slow down in long runs, and RAM is the main limit (LLMCheck MacBook guide).

MacBook Pro and iMac readers can use the same table: macOS version and chip still decide, and extra RAM only helps local models. Owners of Apple's smaller laptop can also scan MacBook Neo AI apps for hardware-fit notes.

  • An Air on macOS 14 can't run Raycast AI, which needs macOS Tahoe (26) and Apple silicon.
  • An Intel Air can run official ChatGPT, BoltAI, Kerlig, MindMac, Chatbox and Fello AI, but not Apple's extension or Raycast AI.
  • The rebuilt ChatGPT desktop app is about 1.5 GB per named press, versus roughly 160-170 MB for Classic (ithinkdiff notes), which matters on a 256 GB Air.
  • Apple's advanced Siri AI in macOS 27 needs an M3 or later and 12 GB of RAM, a higher bar than any app on this list (9to5Mac).

Is ChatGPT on the Mac App Store?

The ChatGPT desktop app is a direct .dmg download from OpenAI, and the App Store listing is the iPhone and iPad mobile app from developer OpenAI OpCo, LLC (Itechguides, 18 August 2026; App Store listing, checked 21 September 2026).

Where each of the 12 Mac apps comes from: direct vendor downloads, Mac App Store installs, the built-in Apple extension, and pages that are not Mac installers

"Not on the Mac App Store" is our reading of that listing, not an OpenAI statement. Two apps on this list have a verified Mac App Store route: Fello AI and Elephas. Chatbox's App Store page is its mobile build, so the Mac client comes as a DMG.

  • Get the Mac desktop app as a .dmg from OpenAI's chatgpt.com/download (Itechguides, 18 August 2026).
  • Fello AI installs from the Mac App Store (Fello App Store page, version 6.8.3 dated 5 September 2026). Elephas ships both routes, and the direct build includes features the App Store sandbox limits (Elephas installation).
  • BoltAI, TypingMind, MacGPT, Msty Studio, Raycast AI, Kerlig, MindMac and Chatbox are direct downloads. Apple's extension is part of macOS, so there is nothing to install.
  • Ignore lookalike "ChatGPT for Mac" sites, and use chatgpt.com in a web browser if you don't want a .dmg. A familiar icon or a screenshot gallery on a third-party page isn't proof of an official build.

Which ChatGPT apps for Mac work offline and keep data on your Mac?

Elephas built-in local LLM models and Msty Studio's local engine work offline and keep a query on your Mac. BoltAI, Kerlig, MindMac, Chatbox and Raycast AI (paid plans) reach a local model through a separately installed engine. Official ChatGPT, Apple's extension, TypingMind, MacGPT and Fello AI are online.

Training and storage statements by app: ChatGPT trains unless switched off, Apple's extension and Elephas store nothing, clients that keep history local but send prompts to the cloud, and apps that can run a local model

AppTrains on your chatsSource and date
ChatGPTOn unless "Improve the model for everyone" is off; Temporary Chat kept up to 30 daysData Controls; Temporary Chat (OpenAI help)
Apple's ChatGPT extension, no accountNo storage, no trainingApple third-party AI, fetched 22 September 2026
ElephasNo; cloud prompts are redacted first, built-in local LLM models stay on the MacElephas site, September 2026
BoltAICloud prompts follow the vendor behind your API key; local runs stay on the MacBoltAI homepage, captured 21 September 2026
TypingMindSays conversations are not used for AI training; keys and chats sit in browser storageTypingMind privacy, checked 22 September 2026
MacGPTSays it does not track or store user data; native traffic goes directly to OpenAIMacGPT privacy, fetched 22 September 2026
Msty StudioDesktop data stays local with PII scrubbing; connected online providers follow their own policiesMsty privacy, updated 16 September 2026
Raycast AISays user data isn't used to train models; ordinary prompts aren't logged, apart from basic metadataRaycast AI privacy, retrieved 22 September 2026
KerligMessages go directly to the provider and are encrypted on the MacKerlig privacy, effective August 2026
MindMacStores chats and keys locally, sends requests directly to OpenAI, does not collect promptsMindMac privacy, checked 22 September 2026
ChatboxChat history and API keys stay on the Mac; your own key sends prompts straight to the providerChatbox data storage, checked 22 September 2026
Fello AIChat history is local and may sync through iCloud; prompts and files go to model providersFello privacy, updated July 2026

Client files in a prompt can leak. In a 2023 study, researchers Milad Nasr, Nicholas Carlini and coauthors found a lower bound of 1.5 million unique 50-token memorized sequences in then-current ChatGPT (Nasr et al.).

ETH Zurich researchers Robin Staab and coauthors (ICLR 2024) found models inferred personal attributes at up to 85% top-1 and 95% top-3 accuracy, and anonymization didn't stop that (Staab et al.).

  • ChatGPT's Temporary Chat stays out of history and model improvement, and OpenAI may keep a copy for up to 30 days for safety (Temporary Chat).
  • Apple's built-in ChatGPT extension, used without an account, stores nothing and trains nothing; a connected account switches to that account's settings (Apple third-party AI).
  • BoltAI, Kerlig, MindMac and Chatbox reach local models through Ollama or LM Studio, and Raycast AI's paid plans can point to a local Ollama server, so a bring-your-own-key client can still run offline.
  • Local storage is not offline. TypingMind, MacGPT and Fello AI keep history on the machine and still send every prompt to a cloud provider.

How do you choose the right ChatGPT app for your Mac?

Pick the app that matches the job: free hosted chat, a small Air, client-file privacy, a one-time price, or a keyboard shortcut. The best ChatGPT apps page is the wider list if you're still comparing apps like ChatGPT beyond this Mac set.

Match the app to your constraint: free use, an 8 GB MacBook Air, client files, a one-time price, or a keyboard shortcut

  • If you need free use, download the official ChatGPT app or turn on Apple's built-in extension, with ads and usage limits as in the free table above.
  • If your MacBook Air has 8 GB, stay on a hosted app, or try a small local model per LLMCheck's 7 September 2026 secondary guide (LLMCheck MacBook guide).
  • If you handle client or regulated files, read Formal Opinion 512 (29 July 2024) before you upload a file into a hosted prompt, and keep the work on a local model or a redacted route.
  • For a one-time price with your own key, compare MindMac at $29, TypingMind at $39, Kerlig at $49 and BoltAI at $79 (BoltAI pricing), then add the API bill each one leaves you.
  • If you want a keyboard shortcut and menu bar speed, Option+Space opens official ChatGPT (Itechguides), MacGPT sits in the menu bar, and Raycast AI puts a prompt in the launcher.

What changed for Mac users in the last 90 days?

Eleven dated changes landed between 9 July and 17 September 2026, covering OpenAI's desktop app, Apple's macOS 27 release and six tools on this list.

Timeline of dated changes to the ChatGPT app, macOS and the tools on this list from 9 July to 17 September 2026

Codex users grew from 5 million to 10 million within days of the merge, per 9to5Mac on 29 July 2026.

  • 9 July 2026: OpenAI rebuilt the ChatGPT desktop app into Chat, Work and Codex, and renamed the old app ChatGPT Classic (Engadget coverage; OpenAI announcement).
  • 17 July 2026: OpenAI restored visible conversation history and projects and added a Chat/Work switch after backlash (Daring Fireball).
  • 24 July 2026: Msty Studio 2.9.6 is the newest dated release on the vendor changelog (Msty changelog).
  • 17 August 2026: BoltAI 2.15.0 was published (BoltAI homepage).
  • 20 August 2026: ChatGPT added an Apple Messages plugin on Apple silicon Macs (send needs approval) and optional Computer History, which is off by default (9to5Mac Messages).
  • 25 August 2026: Raycast v2 left beta and moved AI behind Pro after a seven-day trial (Raycast v2).
  • 5 September 2026: Fello AI's Mac App Store build 6.8.3 was dated (Fello App Store page).
  • 10 September 2026: Raycast changed AI to credits and added Max at $50 a month (Raycast pricing post).
  • 14 September 2026: macOS 27 Golden Gate shipped a standalone Siri app, and advanced Siri AI needs M3 or later and 12 GB of RAM (9to5Mac). Raycast v2.4 added macOS 27 support the same day (Raycast v2.4).
  • 16 September 2026: Chatbox shipped v1.23.3 after adding Work Mode, memory and new model controls (Chatbox changelog).
  • 17 September 2026: ChatGPT gained Microsoft Word support on all plans including Free (OpenAI notes).

Conclusion

The official ChatGPT app is still your default download for OpenAI's own client: free, macOS 14, Apple silicon or Intel. The 9 July 2026 rebuild is the reason to read the rest of this page before you install it.

Match your client to your constraint: ads and hosted limits, 8 GB of RAM, a training setting, or an API bill you pay per use. Built-in local models stay on your machine once the download finishes.

  • You can download the official ChatGPT Mac app for free, use it with a free account, and you'll see ads on Free and Go since 9 February 2026.
  • Every hosted free tier here has a stated limit or catch, from Fello AI's five questions an hour to Raycast's AI-free plan.
  • Keep your client files on a local model, or behind a data setting you've checked, before you paste a prompt.
  • If you want cloud models and built-in local LLM models in one Mac app, Elephas is a privacy-friendly AI knowledge assistant with a free plan (see pricing plans).

Frequently Asked Questions

Does ChatGPT have a native Mac app in 2026?

Yes. OpenAI still ships a ChatGPT desktop app for Mac in 2026, rebuilt on 9 July 2026 into Chat, Work and Codex (Engadget coverage). Named press reports call the new build Electron, about 1.5 GB, while Classic was roughly 160-170 MB (ithinkdiff notes) if you still have it (Michael Tsai).

Is the ChatGPT Mac app free?

Yes. The app is free to download and works with a free account (TechCrunch, 25 June 2024). ChatGPT Plus is $19.99 on the App Store in-app list checked 21 September 2026, and Plus is ad-free (App Store listing). Ads run on Free and Go since 9 February 2026 (MacRumors ads).

Is MacGPT still a free download?

Yes. The developer's Gumroad listing is pay-what-you-want from $0 (MacGPT download), and the developer site, fetched 22 September 2026, lists macOS Monterey and Ventura (MacGPT site). Native mode needs your own OpenAI API key with billing attached. Maintenance status on current macOS is unverified, so install only from that developer page and skip aggregator listings.

What happened to the GPT-4o ChatGPT Mac app?

OpenAI rebuilt the ChatGPT desktop app on 9 July 2026 so Chat, Work and Codex share one window, and the previous macOS app was renamed ChatGPT Classic (OpenAI help). Model names on the service change over time. Dated vendor pages in this research are the only source used for those labels.

Does the ChatGPT app run on an 8 GB MacBook Air?

Yes, the official app, because it runs on macOS 14 with Apple silicon (M1 or better) or Intel, so every current Air qualifies (OpenAI help). On an 8 GB Air, stay hosted or pick a small local model, since RAM is the limit (LLMCheck MacBook guide, 7 September 2026).

What is the best AI chatbot for Mac if I handle client files?

A chatbot running a local model keeps the prompt on your MacBook: Elephas built-in local LLM models, or Msty Studio's local engine. Lawyers have ABA Formal Opinion 512 (29 July 2024) on competence and confidentiality (Formal Opinion 512). Hosted ChatGPT trains unless you switch off "Improve the model for everyone" (Data Controls).

Which ChatGPT Mac apps need an API key?

TypingMind, MacGPT native mode, Kerlig, MindMac and BoltAI need your own OpenAI API key (BoltAI pricing). Official ChatGPT, Apple's extension, Fello AI and Chatbox hosted plans don't.

Elephas needs no key for local models. For cloud models, it uses your plan's monthly credits, or you can bring your own key.

Msty Studio needs one for online models. Raycast AI allows a key on paid plans (Raycast pricing). None of them offers free APIs without limits.

Are ChatGPTMac, MacChat or ChapGPT real Mac apps?

ChatGPTMac, MacChat and ChapGPT are misspellings and lookalike names people type when they search for ChatGPT on a Mac. OpenAI's app is named ChatGPT and comes from OpenAI (developer name OpenAI OpCo, LLC on the App Store listing). Get it from OpenAI's macOS requirements help page.

Sign up now

Get a deep dive into the most important AI story of the week. Deliverd to your inbox for free!

Chaithanya Kattoju

 Chaithanya Kattoju
Chaithanya is the content marketer at Elephas. He writes about AI tools, Mac apps, how AI will change everyday life, and how people can get more out of it. He cares about one thing: helping people understand AI well enough to use it with confidence.

Elephas

Meet Elephas - Your AI-Powered Knowledge Assistant. Your Personal ChatGPT for all your files. Transform information overload into actionable insights. Organize vast knowledge. Access ideas efortlessly. Save 10 hours a week